Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar

An Autonomous research institute of the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India

Recent Developments in Field Theory - 2015

RDFT - 2015    July 17 - 19, 2015

Conference on "Recent Developments in Field Theory" (RDFT) IOP, Bhubaneswar
Jointly organised by IOP, Bhubaneswar; NISER, Bhubaneswar, IISER Kolkata, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar and IIT Bhubaneswar, July 17th-19th, 2015

Recent times have seen significant developments and subsequent applications of field theory in diverse physical systems, supporting exotic phenomena like fractional statistics, anyonic superconductivity, quantum Hall effect, gauge-gravity duality, quark-gluon plasma and many more. These has further led to new questions regarding renormalizability, gauge-independence and confinement etc., that need to be answered for the self-consistency of the theory itself. Interestingly, cold atoms and condensed matter systems have led to the possibility of directly answering some of these theoretical questions. Hence, more than ever, there is a strong need for discussions and sharing of new ideas, through meetings of experts and researchers from different areas of physics. This conference has the modest aim of achieving the same. Also, special focus will be on exposing young researchers and students to the works and achievements of senior scientists. One day of the conference will specially be dedicated to honor and celebrate the works and life of eminent field theorist and much-loved teacher of physics, Prof. Ashok Das. More than anybody else, he has left his footprints in all parts of India, initiating young researchers into the art of field theory. This is in addition to his numerous books and notes, lucidly devoted to bring-out the joys of physics to its seekers and practitioners.


  1. Prof. S. Panda (IOP, Bhubaneswar)
  2. Prof. P. Panigrahi (IISER, Kolkata)
  3. Prof. A. Srivastava (IOP, Bhubaneswar)
  4. Prof. S. Mahapatra (UU, Bhubaneswar)
  5. Prof. S. K. Nayak (IIT, Bhubaneswar)
  6. Prof. S. K. Patra (IOP, Bhubaneswar)
  7. Prof. B. Mohanty (NISER, Bhubaneswar)
  8. Prof. S. Swain (NISER, Bhubaneswar)